Seriously?

Another journal prompt:  If you had to choose one, would you rather eat a chocolate-covered worm or a chocolate-covered beetle? I know – I was asking for it. It wasn’t my idea, though.  My grade partner did it with her class last week and they had fun with it, so I wanted to see what I’d get from my kids.

This first piece was written by a very matter-of-fact little girl:

008

I love that she said she’d be ‘pucking’ at the end of the day. I hate pucking.

Another girl wrote this next piece.  She had quite a way with words.

012

“. . . slither down my through (throat) like I was throwing up backwards.”  What a thought.

My favorite, though, is this one.  It was written by one of my funny boys (the “going to juvie” kid).  He’s a light printer, so it’s kind of hard to read in this photo.  I’ve written it out for you below the picture.

0101

If I was forced to eat a chocolate covered beetle or a chocolate covered worm, I would choose a chocolate covered worm because it would be just like eating a gummy worm. It would be like having a dirt cup at school, soft, slimy and GULP!  Down the throat it goes.  As for beetles it would be hard, crunchy and get stuck in your teeth. I mean seriously. What kind of journal entry is this? A try to make you explode with grossness test or what?!

That kid made me snort.  Loudly.  In front of the whole class.  I snorted.  Seriously.

4 Responses to “Seriously?”

  1. accountantgrrl Says:

    Well! I guess he told you!

    That was hysterical. I would have been snorting along with you.

  2. Sonia Says:

    He makes a good argument! I was leaning toward eating the beetle, but when he mentioned getting things stuck in your teeth I instantly switched to the worm!

  3. Anne Says:

    Yeah, seriously, Ms. R. SERIOUSLY. Are you trying to gross out all the sweet little boys in your class?

  4. Pam Says:

    My husband said None of the above. My son said the worm–he would close his eyes and pretend it was spaghetti! Keep us posted on other entertaining writing prompts.

Leave a Reply

