Boys are . . .

chewing me out – or grossing me out.  Let’s start with the chewing.  We’ll get to the grossing later.

My own boy is more of a grown-up than I am.  He chewed me out for snapping photos of a fellow passenger on our recent train ride to Grand Central Station in NYC.  He said I was obnoxious and rude.  My argument?  I saw something out in public view that I found . . . well . . . intriguing.  I didn’t make a big show of it. I discreetly pulled my camera out of my bag, turned it on, turned the flash off, pointed, and clicked.

leather-lady

I couldn’t help it.  I was intrigued by this woman’s black leather, bow-front half-shirt. I didn’t understand it. I wanted to know more about it. I wanted to remember it. And of course, I wanted to show it to you.

What I didn’t realize until I zoomed in on the photo as I checked it on the playback was that this woman was looking right at the lens when I snapped the picture.  I’ve behaved responsibly and cropped her face out of the shot to protect her identity.  Hopefully, no one will be able to recognize her from the back.

leather-lady2

So that’s that. Just wanted to share. Nothing else to say about it.  I won’t do it again.

Before we get to the grossing, I’ll tell you about what we did after the train ride.  My sisters, my niece, my boy, and I went to the city on Saturday to poke around.

0041

It was a beautiful day and we thought it would be a great time to walk around – and check out some yarn stores.  First, we went to School Products on Broadway.  Not so great.  The man who ran the store tried to be helpful and was friendly – until he realized we weren’t going to buy anything.  Then he was done with us.  No photos.

We walked (and walked and walked and walked) and came to Macy’s in Herald Square – the largest store in the world.  (At least that’s what the sign says.)  Their annual flower show was on, so we went inside to look.

009

005

My boy and I rode the escalators up and down to quickly check out every floor. Seven? Eight?  I think we lost count.  Floors and floors of stuff.  A serious shopper could get lost in there for days.  The cool thing?  The old, wooden escalators.

007

Later, we made it to Purl Soho on Sullivan Street.  Tiny, but beautiful store.

013

I bought this:

011

Koigo KPPPM. Such pretty colors.  No idea what it’ll be when it grows up, but it will be lovely.

Next, we continued to The Point on Bedford Street, which was only a few blocks from Purl.  At The Point, you can eat, knit, and be happy – just like the sign says.  It’s a knitting cafe and it’s adorable.  I wish they had one in my town.  I think I’d be there every day.

014

017

After walking 80 bajillion miles, we all slept until noon the next day – which was a good thing because my vacation had reached its end and it was time to head back to school.  I was a little down-in-the-dumps about going back, but I knew I’d be entertained by the kids.

And entertained I was.  And grossed out, too.

I gave the kids the job of choosing two animals that they could combine to create a new and different animal.  For example, a puppy and a raccoon could become a pupcoon. They would then have to write a description of this animal and tell me where it lives, what it eats, and so on.  Then, they would draw a picture of the animal in its habitat.

One of my little . . . angels decided to combine a snake and a cow.  A snow (rhymes with how).  Hmmm.  Okay.  A snow.

Here’s the illustration:

0151

You might notice that over on the left side of the paper there’s another snow that was drawn first and then erased.  The artist thought it should be bigger.

Ahem.

8 Responses to “Boys are . . .”

  1. Sonia Says:

    Too funny!
    I also love The Point and wish there were one here…

  2. rmsheffler Says:

    I’d love a knitting café here in town — maybe we can open one when we retire if no one else does it first.

    Snow, huh? Interesting…… But he didn’t give it a black & white coat.

  3. sunflowerfairy Says:

    You have the.best.job.ever!

    I would totally keep all of these things for a book one day.

    Hysterical.

  4. margaret (anne's sister) Says:

    Yes, save these for a book. That is TOO funny!

  5. Kathy Says:

    That black leather thing is very hard to describe…we NEEDED those pictures…they were, um, research, so we can find our very own. Maybe they even come in colors….

  6. Kim Says:

    “They’re annual flower show ” D’oh! Sorry, I knew something didn’t look right. Your a teacher!
    Thanks for the crop leather pics. They came out great. It does actually look like there’s a closure in front. Poor thing!

  7. knelley Says:

    Yikes! Thanks for the heads-up on the typo. That was painful.

  8. What a Difference a Day Makes « Knelley Knits Says:

    […] knit-free days, I needed to get some needles and yarn working again.  I kept sneaking peeks at the Koigu KPPPM I bought a few weeks ago and I needed to find something pretty to knit with it.  After searching […]

Leave a Reply

