Finally Finished!

Tonight I finally finished the baby blanket I’ve been knitting for a soon-to-arrive baby boy.  I don’t know why, but this beautiful piece of handknit goodness was an honest to goodness thorn in my side.  It seemed to take forever and every time I measured it to see if it was a true square yet, I swear it was getting smaller.  It played tricks on me.  At least it’s finally done, although it continues to taunt me by refusing to allow its actual color to be photographed.  It’s not as bright a blue as in this first photo . . .

001

. . . but it’s not as dull as in this next one.  Whatever.  The yarn is a very pretty blue – Little Boy Blue and knit double-stranded, it created a very thick, cushy blanket that’ll be great to set down on the floor for baby to lay on.

0061

Now I can get on with my life and decide what I’m going to knit next.  My April vacation has begun and beyond some appointments, get-togethers with friends, and garage cleaning (ha!), I should have lots of knitting time.  I also might work on third marking period report cards, but maybe not.  Reading kids work as I decide their grades can be . . . um . . . alarming.

Take a peek at a response written by one of my 3rd grade girls to a question about a book she’d been reading independently.  Since I may not read each and every word of each and every book read by my 21 students, I count on them to write lots of details to explain their thoughts.  If you’re like me, you’ll quickly find that one word in her writing JUMPS OUT at you.

068

See it?

070

Wrapped.  He wrapped himself up in toilet paper.  She thinks that’s funny.

After getting past my initial slam-the-notebook-closed-and-sit-on-it reaction, I think it’s funny, too.  Gulp.

Oh – wrap was a spelling word a few weeks ago.

6 Responses to “Finally Finished!”

  1. jennsquared Says:

    Oh boy… W.R.A.P. Wrap! Yes Ms. Knelley!

  2. Mom Says:

    HURRAY !!!!!! So happy blanket is finished. The baby will enjoy it. Very pretty.

  3. accountantgrrl Says:

    Ummm….actually Knelley, there are two words. “Raped” and “Cock”. Oh dear.

    The blanket came out so pretty. I know that the new mommy will love it for her little baby boy.

  4. rmsheffler Says:

    Maybe she was sick that week & missed the spelling words?

    Great job on the blanket, though!

  5. Anne Says:

    Accountantgrrl beat me to it — I saw 2 words.

    The blanket looks super!

  6. Pilar Says:

    strange how the meaning of a sentence can change so much, and also himself should be one word, right?

    love the blanket great job!

Leave a Reply

