Sweet!

If I could fit into it, I would wear it.  I love this baby dress!

149

The pattern is the Kaia Babydoll and it was a fun, easy knit.  I used Lionbrand Cotton Ease in Lime and Berry, but these photos don’t show the true colors.   The green and pink are much  brighter – very springy looking.   I knit the newborn size.    I think it looks a little bit big for a brand new baby girl, but then again I haven’t had a baby around in a long time.  I have no idea how big newborn babies are.

I had a hard time deciding how I wanted to finish the bottom of the dress. I didn’t love the lace border that was called for in the pattern.  My sister suggested a picot edge, made with yarnovers and knit2togethers, then folded and hemmed.  I tried it and it looked so pretty, but the hem was just too thick.  I put google to work for me and found a picot edge bind-off that looked pretty, but it was a thorn in my side to knit (took forever!) and it was curling up something fierce. I only bound off about 1/6 of the way around before I backed it up and settle for a simple garter stitch border.

I crocheted a chain and wove it through the eyelets to make a bow.  I’d planned an i-cord instead, but it came out too thick and although it fit through the holes, it was way too bulky.

148

I’m really happy with this little dress and I hope this new baby’s mommy loves it.  I’m sure I’ll knit another babydoll.  Lots of babies on the way.  It’s a baby boom out there.

To prove my point, here’s a baby blanket I just started for another friend who is having a boy.  The shower is a week from today so I’ve got to get crack-a-lacking on this one.  It took me a while to figure out what I wanted to knit.  I needed something fast and easy – big needles and two strands of yarn for sure and I wanted it to have a hood.  I searched Ravelry for a pattern, but I didn’t find anything I loved.    I searched for stitch patterns so that I could just do my own thing, but kept finding myself drawn to lacy patterns that seemed too girlie.  I hunted through the 365 Stitch Patterns a Year Perpetual Calendar and found what I wanted.

153

It’s December 17 – the Bee Stitch.  It’s the stitch I used on a few of my neckwarmers at Christmas-time. Should have thought of that one by myself.  I’m using Lionbrand Vanna’s Choice Baby in Little Boy Blue.  The top photo is close to the color.  I started with a few garter stitch rows and I’m keeping a three-stitch border going along edges.  And yes – two strands of yarn on size 13 needles.  According to my calculations, I’ll need to knit about five inches a day for the next six days and then on to the hood to have it done for Sunday.  Piece of cake.  I think.

155

Here are a few of the latest chuckles from school.  I gave the kids a journal prompt, asking:  Would you rather be a caveman or  a pirate?  (It just came off the top of my head five minutes before school started. Really.)  Although there were a few caveman defenders, most of the kids thought the pirate life was for them.

My two favorite responses:

1311

I would rather be a pirate than a caveman because pirates get to steal ships and do bad things like rob treasures, shoot guns, and swing soards.  As for cavemen, they can swing thier clubs hit them self then they lay flat and go duhhh!  Argh! is more like it!  At least pirates get to fight to live.

127

I would rather be a pirate then a caveman because pirates have a lot of booty (tresure). And pirates have a lot of food so I would never starve.

130

(Pirates) get rich by stealing other peoples booty, while cavemen steal raw meat.

Don’t cavemen know that meat grows on trees?

8 Responses to “Sweet!”

  1. accountantgrrl Says:

    Apparently the cutie patootie didn’t get that memo. And actually, Knelley, meat is made at grocery stores. EVERYONE knows that! 😉

  2. accountantgrrl Says:

    Oh…and the Kaia is adorable!

  3. jennsquared Says:

    That little dress is so cute! I wish I was a kid again so I can fit in it!!!

    I personally learned earlier this week that meat is made at grocery stores, Mrs. Knelley! You taught me that! 😉

  4. Phoebe Says:

    The baby dress is just adorable! Cutie Cute cute! 😀

  5. Anne Says:

    Too cute! (both the baby knits and the kids’ essays)

  6. Mom Says:

    I love the dress, so cute. Your kids are so funny. I wish they could stay that way !

  7. Pam Says:

    The dress really is gorgeous. Do you have anything equally cute for Karen’s baby boy?

  8. Kathy Says:

    Love love love that dress!

Leave a Reply

