Another Snowy Day . . .

. . . gives me more time for knitting and some time to catch you up on the latest.

I knit a new, better Pilot’s Cap for one of the baby girls who will soon make an entrance.  I like it so much better than the one I showed you in my last post.  This hat will definitely sit on a baby’s head the right way and will make the baby’s face look like a little ball of cuteness.  This pattern is from Little Turtle Knits and although I hesitated before spending $8 on one little tiny hat pattern, I think it was worth it.  I’ll make lots of these and the pattern is sized from newborn to child.  Good stuff.

Since I didn’t have a real baby head to model it on, a ball of gray yarn had to act as a stand-in.

100_0344

100_0343

The construction of the hat is really clever.  It starts from the bottom/back and increases to form the top and sides.  Very cool.

100_0317

Instead of i-cord (pure laziness), I crocheted a chain, attached it to the bottom of the hat, single crocheted across, and then continued the chain.  100_0345

The hat was knit with Lion Brand Cotton Ease in Berry.  Love the yarn and I’m happy with the hat.

I’m also happy with the Manly Slipper Socks I knit for a manly man.

100_0351

I stuck with Lion Brand again, this time using Wool Ease in Grey Heather.  These socks are meant for a man with really cold feet who can’t stand ankle socks.  They had to be mid-calf and super warm.  I knit them with two strands of yarn held together, so they knit up fast and they’re going to keep his piggies nice and toasty.  I really love them.  The socks, I mean.  Not the piggies.

Another love of mine . . . my new Kindle 2!  Love!  I treated myself with a little (well, not so little) chunk of my tax refund.  I’m really in awe of it.  It downloads books wirelessly (don’t even need a computer) and the cost of the books is much lower than the actually paper and ink book.   Because I’m a dork who wanted to read a book on her Kindle as soon as it arrived on the doorstep, the first book I bought was the same book I’d just taken out of the library and started the night before.  Dumb when the actual book was right on my bed, but I really wanted to test out my new piece of technological goodness.

It’s easy to use and it’s so great to be able to read in bed while laying on my side and not having to struggle with propping up the book and turning pages.  Just press a button with my thumb while the Kindle rests against my hand and voila –  the page turns.

100_0355

Another cool thing – when shopping for books, Amazon will give you a free sample.  They’ll send you a few chapters to read, so you can decide if you’re interested before you purchase.  I’ve gotten samples of Revolutionary Road and The Reader.  Look at this other feature:

100_03571

A built-in dictionary.  You can move the cursor to any word and the dictionary definition pops up on the bottom of the screen.  Now I know what an architrave is – and you do, too.  (Well, Yankee, if you’re reading this, I’m sure you already knew that.  This benefits only those of us who aren’t archidorks.)

Off I go now to, as my sister Kathy calls it, K and K.  Knit and Kindle.  Knelley Knits ‘n Knindles?

6 Responses to “Another Snowy Day . . .”

  1. Phoebe Says:

    The baby hat is cute! Maybe I will get the pattern too.

    The kindle looks very cool, it will be on my Christmas list this year. lol

  2. accountantgrrl Says:

    Cuteness (as you would say)!

    That Kindle is the epitome of cool.

  3. Mom Says:

    I love the hat, so cute. The sox are nice. You should make some red ones for Daddy. RED SOX, get it ????

  4. Kathy Says:

    Love the yarn baby and her hat…very cute. The kindle is interesting. Different than I thought.

  5. Kim Says:

    Cha-ching! How will you afford those Girl Scout cookies now? The kindle does look very cool. Can you put knitting patterns on it?

  6. Blogworthy? « Knelley Knits Says:

    […] Knelley Knits Knitting, mothering, teaching, and living well after breast cancer. « Another Snowy Day . . . […]

Leave a Reply

