Archive for February 22nd, 2009

I’m Spending Too Much Time . . .

February 22, 2009

on the couch.  I’m writing this while laying on the couch, still in my pajamas and robe.  Another stinking cold.  Being knocked down onto the couch has given me lots of time for knitting.  I’ve finished the second sleeve on my Toothpaste Liesl.  All done, except for the closure.  I’ve had mixed reviews about the ribbon tie, so I’m rethinking.  I plan to take the good advice I was given and crochet a few button loops and find some good buttons.  Until then, the sweater lays in a heap.  I’ve already moved on to other things.

There are four babies on their way to friends and family members, so I needed to figure out what I was going to knit for each.  If I’ve been paying attention carefully, I’m correct when I say that two boys and two girls are expected.   Here’s one of the boy gifts – the OpArt baby blanket from Knitty.com.

100_0313

I got off to a rocky start on this one.  It’s knit in the round from the center out, which is fine.  I started it magic loop style, so I didn’t have to fumble with dpns.  The thing I didn’t love was the number of color changes made right away.  Ugh.  It had so many loose stitches and ends hanging all over the place that I almost scrapped it.  I actually pulled it off the needles, ready to rip.  Hmmmm.  It looked kind of not too bad.  I tightened up my loose stitches and it looked kind of pretty good.  Back on the needles.

It’s a simple pattern with four kf&b increases on every round.  My heart skipped a few beats this morning when I realized that I’d missed  a kf&b several rounds back and had to rip out hundreds of stitches.  I’m proud to say that I handled this setback with dignity.  No sweating.  No swearing.  I ripped back to the mistake point and re-knit gracefully.  I think I may officially be a grown-up now.

I also whipped up this Pilot’s Cap for one of the baby girls.

100_0302

I’m not happy with it at all.  First, it’s way too big for a newborn and second, the shape of it seems wonky.  I can’t see it sitting properly on a baby’s head.  Maybe I just need to try it on a baby, but I don’ t have one and don’t know where I can get one any time soon.   Instead of approaching a random baby out in public, I decided to try another version of a tie hat:  this one.  It looks cute and will definitely cover the head and ears, although it may have the unwanted effect of making a baby appear to have been kidnapped from an Amish mother.  We’ll see.  I think it’ll be adorable on a little punkin with big, fat, rosy cheeks.

Speaking of little punkins, Emmie thought it would be a good idea to climb into the cabinet and stand guard over her food.  You just never know . . .

100_0290

