Archive for February 18th, 2009

When in Doubt, Improvise

February 18, 2009

I’m in doubt.  I’m improvising.  Here’s the progress on the Toothpaste Liesl.  The photo is cropped to cut out my bare left arm.  I’ve still got the second sleeve to finish and the one sleeveless side really throws off the otherwise appealing look of this sweater.   I’m loving it.  The doubt comes only from the fact that I’m a dope and neglected to knit buttonholes as I was going along.  Doy.  Due to the lack of buttonholes, I need an alternate way to close up this baby.   I have a store-bought sweater that ties closed with a grosgrain ribbon that runs through a few openings in the body.  That’s where I got the idea to make use of the eyelet holes that run throughout the pattern.

toothpaste-liesl-2

I’ve run an ivory ribbon through a row of holes and I think it’s okay.  Sad that I couldn’t find a ribbon that matched one of the shades of aqua in the yarn, but nothing worked.  I’ll continue to hunt for a ribbon that blends rather than standing out so much.  I also may decide to bump the ribbon down a few rows so it’s not around my rib cage.  I think it makes my boobage a little too prominent.  I’ve always been one to play them down – not make them stand out.

See what I mean?

toothpaste-liesl-3

Please note that this photo can not in any way be viewed as a gratuitous boob shot.  It’s tastefully done and included because it’s important to advancing the plot.  Really.

This photo also serves to point out that my eliminating the purl ridge on the fabric of the sweater was a good choice in this case.  I don’ t think that this yarn, with all of its variegated goodness, was the right yarn for this particular pattern.  The lace pattern would work better with a solid color, so keeping it as clean and simple as possible was the right way to go.

Overall, I’m happy with this sweater.  It’s a keeper.  I need to finish so I can move onto the baby knits I want to work on next.  Lots of babies coming soon.  Love the babies.

Speaking of babies, here’s mine sticking her nose into my Valentine’s Day haul from my 3rd graders.  Emmie can sniff out the sweet stuff from a mile away.  She tends to go for the baked goods.  She was looking for a cookie.

100_0231

Here, she was supervising while I was baking cookies.  She had her paw on the handle of the oven door.  The timer hadn’t gone off yet, so she didn’t want me peeking.

100_0269

For a glimpse into summer, look into the box of oranges and grapefruits we received from my boy’s grandparents.  They live in sunny Florida and tried to send a little of their sunshine our way.  So good!  They’re already almost gone.

100_0206

I’ll leave you with a photo that my boy found a few days ago while going through his dad’s things.  It was taken of him and his brother at Playland in Rye, New York.

100_0203

I love how the boys are in focus and everything else is blurry, even though they were moving.  Such a cool shot and, I’m sure, completely accidental.  We never had any mad photography skilz.

