Au Revoir Before We Even Got a Chance . . .

Our little French-speaking friend didn’t end up joining our class.  Although she’d been in the third grade in her West African school, our principal decided to place her in second grade because of her age.  My kids were so disappointed, but this child will be better off.  She’s joined a class of 16 children, rather than becoming the 22nd student in my  jam-packed classroom.   Maybe I’ll get lucky and she’ll be in my class next year.  She’s absolutely adorable – friendly and outgoing.  I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

Tuesday was a very special day at our school.  We had our own Inaugural Ball!  It was one of the many balls that our new President Obama attended that day.  I was lucky enough to have my picture taken with him!  Look!

006

And can I just say that I had loads and loads of chuckles on Tuesday night listening to Anderson Cooper say the word balls over and over and over.  Snortfest.

I’ll leave you with this link.  It’s a beauty.  No words are necessary.  Just go watch.

7 Responses to “Au Revoir Before We Even Got a Chance . . .”

  1. Peaceful Knitter Says:

    Wow, he really IS taller in person!

  2. Mad Knitter Says:

    Sorry to hear about your student! She sounds lovely! Hey, is Bill telling Hillary to greet Barack? Wow. It’s weird. I heard they greeted the first family at the door of the National Prayer Service (is that what it’s called?) the other day…they are saying they will not be ignored, I think! Good for them. I’m still a Bill Clinton fan.

  3. Anne Says:

    Awesome photo — you should make it your Facebook photo for a while. Obamamania!

  4. Mom Says:

    Kelley, really, he’s a married man. Is he that tall ????

  5. Kathy Says:

    That picture makes him look like a football player wannabe….but you look nice! Hope you had a ball at the ball? Did you serve any ball-shaped food?

  6. rmsheffler Says:

    Hee, hee, hee — you said “ball” an awful lot… (And you look lovely next to Mr. President.)

  7. Pam Says:

    C’est dommage (that’s too bad). And my offer still stands–if the school gets desperate for a translator, call me.

Leave a Reply

