Ppwwaaaa!

Sorry.  That was just me blowing the dust off.

I’ve been knitting off and on, though not as much as I’d like.  I’ve made some progress on a second Liesl, lovingly titled the Toothpast Liesl.  The color is very Crest-ish.

027

I’ve made a few changes to this version of my beloved purple sweater.  I’m knitting a size larger so that it won’t be a super-snug fitting cardigan and I’ve also eliminated the ridge row in the pattern so that it’ll have a smoother look.  This sweater doesn’t have buttonholes like the first one, but that was a complete oops-I-forgot-so-crap-I’ll-just-have-to-use-a-pin.

030

Speaking of lack of buttons, my original Liesl was buttonless for a few weeks.  I finally got myself to the store and chose two sets of buttons.  I couldn’t decide by myself, so I figured my boy would help.  He’s always willing to give me advice when it comes to what I wear. (Why I would take advice from a boy who wears the same pants every day of his life until I wrestle them to the washing machine . . . a boy who wears wrinkled and stretched out shirts . . . a boy who would go to school wearing the clothes he slept in . . . well, it’s beyond me.)

He chose these buttons.  Plain silvertone.  Very simply.  I sewed them on.   He shook his head.  D’oh!

022

So I pulled those off and sewed on my original first choice, the boy’s second choice.

024

We have a winner.  I like the way these blend in.  Done.

025

I’ve made a teeny bit of progress on my Cable Luxe Tunic.  It’s very . . . cable-y.  Extremely cable-ish.  Lots of freakin’ cables.  I love it, but it makes me tired.

056

It’ll take lots of pushing to get me to knit this entire sweater.  My sister is knitting it now, too.  She’ll probably have it done and all worn out before I get the yoke done.  She’s got mad skilz.

057

On the school front, I’ve got a little knot of anxiety in my stomach.  On Friday, I was told that I’d be getting a new student this coming week.  From West Africa.  Very cool!  Only speaks French.  Yikes.  I can already hear myself shouting, “Hello!  I’m happy to meet you!” in the way I always seem to do when trying to speak to someone who doesn’t understand English.  Why do I think that if I’m loud, they’ll understand me?   I’ve had two previous non-English-speaking students come  to my class, and I did it both times.  I’m really going to make an effort to talk like a normal person and not make an idiot out of myself.  I’m nervous about this child, but only because I want her to be happy and comfortable in my classroom.  I know she’ll probably be scared and I hate the thought of that.  She’ll work with ESOL instructors a few times a week and then she’ll just amazingly pick up the language by being thrown into the mix.  I’m always in awe of how quickly children can learn.  The kids in my class are excited about the idea of a new student.  They can’t wait – they all think they’re going to learn French.  But still.  I’m nervous.  I can be nervous if I want to.

In an effort to stop the continuous curtain climbing that goes on in my bedroom when I’m trying to sleep, I bought the Pedi-Paws nail groomer thing at Walgreen’s.  I couldn’t seem to do it properly – couldn’t get Emmie’s claws all the way in to hit the filer without being afraid I was hurting her.   The boy, however, is a master.  He’s taken over the job.  Emmie doesn’t fight him – just hangs out and lets him get it over with.

038

It’s exhausting though.

018

Saw this article on CNBC.com.  They’ve set up a Best “As Seen on TV” Product Bracket, just like they do for college ball.  Go and vote for your favorites in the first round.  ShamWow.  Might Putty.  Thighmaster.  Snort.

8 Responses to “Ppwwaaaa!”

  1. Anne Says:

    From West Africa. Very cool! Only speaks French. Yikes.

    No problem. Just go rent “The Pink Panther” and learn to talk like Steve Martin. Inspector Clouseau is French, ya know.

    Seriously, when I was in 2nd grade, twin boys from Mexico joined our class mid-year. When they first arrived, they spoke no English, but within a few weeks, they were speaking English like natives.

  2. Phoebe Says:

    I like both of the sweaters! The buttons are cute!

    After hearing us talking about ShamWow at the Rock Bank party, Andrew went to Walgreen and bought the ShamWow right away, plus the Pedi-Paws too! But we haven’t tried to use it yet. It’s good to know it works on cats too!!!

  3. Pam Says:

    If you really get desperate, call me–I was a French major, remember? And yes, kids learn new languages relatively quickly. Then there’s always the eternal icebreaker–the Nintendo DS.

  4. Octopus Knits Says:

    Your Liesls are beautiful! (love the buttons)

    How nice that Emmie will stand for some claw grooming 🙂

  5. Mom Says:

    I love the button choice and it’s nice to see Emmie likes to get her nails done. Girls do enjoy that.

  6. Kathy Says:

    Love the buttons. Good luck with those beautiful cables. You’re right…your sister will be at SnB wearing that sweater…she’s quick! As for that PediPaw thing…I’d be toast if I tried it on Jessie! Good luck with the French girl – you will be fine, and the kids will love her.

  7. rmsheffler Says:

    Love the buttons you finally decided on — they blend very nicely. And, of course, I love your cables.

    Don’t get too nervous about your new student — it’ll all turn out just fine. Kids are resilient, remember; it’ll be harder for you than for her.

  8. Am I Late to the Party? « Knelley Knits Says:

    […] a little bit of knitting happening lately.  Still working on the Toothpaste Liesl.  It’s coming along  s-l-o-w-l-y.  I was a little distracted by the two new books that […]

Leave a Reply

