In Recovery

 . . . from a weekend at Rhinebeck.

What a wonderful weekend it was.  Mad Knitter and Yankee Lagniappe picked me up at my door (such a treat!) and we headed to Rhinebeck.  It was a beautiful weekend – chilly, bright and sunny.  Good fall weather.  We made it to the festival by 11:30 and jumped in.  There was so much to drool over, to buy, to eat, to drink, to giggle at, and to be surprised by:

Surprise #1:  Fancy tools.

See the label up close?

We didn’t know what they were for, but we imagined some pretty uncomfortable possibilities.

Surprise #2:  Fancy Inventions

 Check out the sign:

I really don’t think it would be a good idea for me to wear my glass of wine around my neck or even over my shoulder.  Spillage.

Surprise #3:  Fancy Animals.

Lemurs are snuggle-bunnies.  It’s adorable the way these little guys lined up on a branch in front of a heat lamp and huddled together to stay warm.  It was chilly willy.

During a day filled with shopping, eating, making our way through crowds, and trying to stay warm, we went to the Ravelry meet-up.  Here’s WifeMomKnitter with Casey and Jess, the team behind Ravelry. 

 Ravelry threw a big party on Saturday night.  It was an event filled with goodie bags, knitters, cupcakes, drinks, party food, and lots of wonderful raffle prizes.  Backstageknits was the only one in our big group who won something – two patterns from Knitspot and two beautiful skeins of yarn.

We mixed and mingled, oogling the beautiful handknits worn by knitters from all over.  There were even several knitting celebrites mixing and mingling in the crowd.  I attempted to kinnear Ann and Kay of Mason-Dixon Knitting, but I Ann spotted me.  I need to practice my kinnearing techniques.

 So I kinneared myself. 

Here’s the gang (or a pretty good chunk of the gang): 

From left to right:  Yankee Lagniappe, Mad Knitter, me, WifeMomKnitter, Backstageknits, and CostumeChick.  Take a closer look at CostumeChick.  She’s ready for anything with a fork tucked into her purse strap. 

After an iffy-night’s sleep at a hotel, we returned to the festival for more shopping on Sunday.  My sister Kim and Peaceful Knitter joined us.  Nutmeg Knitter and Theaterknitter were with us, too, but they somehow escaped my camera.

 

It was much less crowded on Sunday than it was on Saturday, so we were able to get a better look at each booth and do some serious shopping.  (I’ll show you my purchases in my next post.)

Kim and I drove home together, sustained by a bag of kettle corn.  Here we are just as we arrived at my front door.  Happy girls after a happy weekend.

And now so happy I took today off!

5 Responses to “In Recovery”

  1. accountantgrrl Says:

    It was so much fun!

    Can’t wait to see everything you bought.

  2. rmsheffler Says:

    Wow — sounds like you had an awesome time — see you tomorrow?

  3. sunflowerfairy Says:

    We had a blast too!

    And orifice hooks- they are used in spinning (not nearly as…um, exciting shall we say?…as you were hoping, right?) Some wheels have a small hole (called the orifice) that you have to feed the wool that you are spinning into. The hook helps you to feed the first few inches onto the bobbin.

  4. Mom Says:

    I’m glad you had such a great time and you played hooky ??? I’m telling.
    Knitters Mom

  5. Mad Knitter Says:

    Ah, Rhinebeck! Thanks for helping me to relive it! It was so much fun!

Leave a Reply

