With One Arm Tied Behind My Back . . .

I could wear my sweater to Rhinebeck. 

It only has one sleeve.

I’m getting there!  So determined to have this baby done. 

Here’s a closer look at the sleeve:

I’m excited about it and hoping that I’ll love it when it’s done.  I don’t want to go through another nasty break-up.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

A few week’s ago, I decided to piggyback on a great idea that my grade partner had.  (piggyback = totally copy)  She has a pug named Pablo at home and she talks about him all the time with her kids.  She brought a Pablo-like stuffed dog to school as a class mascot and she sends the stuffed Pablo home with a different student each week to have an adventure.  The child writes about what he/she and Pablo did together and illustrates the story. 

Since I talk about Emmie all the time, I wanted to do the same thing.  I bought a stuffed black cat (a Webkinz) and colored its pink nose and ears with a black Sharpie so she’d look more like my Emmie.

When I pulled the stuffed cat out of my bag and presented the idea of Adventures with Emmie to the kids in my class, I couldn’t get over how excited they were.  I knew the girls would love it, but the boys were just as thrilled about having the chance to take Emmie home.  She went home for the first time last weekend with a delightful boy and spent the long weekend with him and his family.  Here’s what the child brought in to share with us today:

Cuteness.

~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~  ~

Thanks to those of you who commented on my happy mammogram results.  You’re a bunch of goodies.  Now go get your boobs checked!

7 Responses to “With One Arm Tied Behind My Back . . .”

  1. jennsquared Says:

    You wouldn’t believe if I say this, because I wouldn’t either, but because I’m under 30 and never had cancer before, they won’t check my boobs that way. They only do the touchy feely thing. Yeah i know. I hope they are right on that stuff. I check my boobs everyday when I shower, just to make sure they are right, like insurance policy.

    I LOOOOOVE the sleeve!!! I think I want to piggyback your sweater! 🙂

  2. accountantgrrl Says:

    The sweater is coming along quite nicely!

    Gee, I wish I had known about your “piggybacking” idea. I would have loaned you my pug, Orion. The kids could have given him lots of dog biscuits and he would have loved them forever. I don’t think he would have enjoyed learning to skateboard though……

  3. Mom Says:

    What a sweet little boy !! When do I get a turn with the kitty ? Your sweater is beautiful, although the color looks different from the other picture.

  4. Kathy Says:

    Oh…definitely give the Emmie imposter to Mommy…how fun would that be for your class? Let all the kids do it, and then when they think it’s over….there’s a mystery person who stole the kitty!!

  5. Mad Knitter Says:

    Oh, I love that kitty with teacher’s mommy idea!!! That’s great!

    Love your sweater!! I can’t wait to see it finished! And I’m slo glad for your good mammo results!

  6. betsy Says:

    SO cool with the kitty. My sis did something like that, except it was like the loopy Ewe sheep. There was a class “mascot” that got mailed to a friend of hers. The friend took a picture of the “mascot” (Which is just on a post card) and wrote about where the mascot visited. She sent the letter and picture back to the class. THe mascot was mailed to someone else who in turn did the same thing. Lots of schools are doing it. The kids loved it.

  7. I Heart Vacation « Knelley Knits Says:

    […] that Adventures with Emmie the Cat thing that I started a while back?  One of my boys was reading his Adventures with Emmie story aloud to […]

Leave a Reply

