Driving Myself Nuts . . .

. . . with this sweater.

 

I’m still happy with this it, but I’ve had to rip it back more times than I care to remember.  Knit 3 inches . . . rip back 2.  Crap.  I think I’ve finally got it on the right track.  After a lot of swatching (me!  swatching!), I finally chose a lace pattern.  It’s simple and I think I like it.  Because the lace portion of the sweater is knit on US 13 needles, I needed a pattern that wasn’t too wide.  This one is called the Little Lace Pattern from the 365 Knitting Stitches a Year Perpetual Calendar.  (It’s January 27th.)  It’s a 5-stitch lace pattern on a background of stockinette.

Not too fancy, but wonderfully easy to knit.  Look ma!  No pattern checking!  It’s simple to memorize. 

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

Want some sweetness?  In class my kids read an article about different ways kids can help in their communities.  A follow-up activity asked them to come up with solutions to problems in their own towns.  For example: “People at school are putting trash into the recycling bins.”  Kids suggested that they could make signs and posters to remind people where to throw out trash and where to put their recyclables.  Another problem: “Some elderly people at the local nursing home do not have family nearby.”  Look at this girl’s solution – in the center box.

I would come over and comfort them, call them, draw pictures for them, and ask other people to help. 

I wanted to hug her.

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

And finally, the best thing about today:

Setting:  Outside on the field during recess at school today.

Characters:  Miss H. (my grade partner), Boy, Me

The event:  A group of girls and a group of boys are gathering acorns and putting them in big piles.  (Don’t ask me why.  They did this last week with dried grass clippings, piling it up and calling it hay.)

Boy: (running toward us) Miss H.!  The girls are taking our nuts!

Miss H.:  Snort.

Me:  They’re taking your nuts?  Tell them to keep their hands off your nuts.

Boy: (running toward the offending girls) Keep your hands off our nuts!  Don’t touch our nuts!

Miss H.:  Snort snort.

Me:  SNORT!

Boy: (running back toward us)  They keep grabbing our nuts! 

Miss H.:  Choke snort snort.

Me:  Tell them they have to get their own nuts.  They can’t have yours.

Boy: (running back toward the girls):  Get your own nuts!  You can’t have the boys’ nuts!

Miss H.:  (red-faced and hunched over) Giggle giggle giggle.

Me:  SNORT.

On days like this one . . . I really love my job.

8 Responses to “Driving Myself Nuts . . .”

  1. accountantgrrl Says:

    (ROFLOL)

    Get your own nuts! You can’t have the boys’ nuts!

    I LOVE IT!!

  2. Mom Says:

    OMG How do you keep a staight face ?????

  3. rmsheffler Says:

    Silly boys, nuts are for girls, too! I can’t believe that you managed not to laugh in front of this kid. Good job. See you tonight?

  4. costumechick Says:

    SNORT!

  5. Anne Says:

    Get your own nuts! You can’t have the boys’ nuts!

    Sigh… if I had a dollar for every time I’d heard THAT on the playground…

    Why won’t the boys let me play with their nuts????? (:-(

  6. Amanda Page Says:

    Picture me sitting in a local crafting shop. It’s a Sock Monkey class in one part, and our knitting group in the other. A friend’s two sons (7, 14) are making monkeys, I’m learning how to knit socks.

    14 y.o. to me : See my monkey? Touch my Monkey!
    Me (Snort!)
    7 y.o. – If Amanda’s going to touch your monkey, then she has to touch my monkey too!
    Me (red faced and completely losing my place in my sock) Gigglegigglegiggle
    Friend and Mother of Boys – Take your monkeys away from Amanda~!

    Boys and their Monkeys, boys and their nuts.

  7. Saint Gothric Says:

    There are some moments that really SHOULD be captured on YouTube.

    😉

  8. jennsquared Says:

    LMAO!

Leave a Reply

