Letters from the Edge

Dear Juliet,

I’m so sorry.  I just don’t think we’re right for each other.  You’re lovely.  Really you are.  We’re just not a good fit.  I know there are many others out there who love you and who look beautiful when you’re around them, but you’re just not doing it for me. 

I’ll keep this picture of you so that I can always remember the time we spent together.  We had some happy times.  We had some rocky times.  I apologize if I ever hurt you by tugging at you with a bit too much force.  You know I never meant you any harm.  I was just trying to help you better yourself.   Good intentions, right?  Anyhow . . . best of luck to you. 

Oh, and just to avoid any uncomfortable situations in the future in case we run into each other, you might see me with someone else. 

She’s a bit smaller than you are and I think she’s going to make me feel good about myself with she’s around me.  She’s better suited for someone like me.  When you get a good look at her when she’s ready, you might think she looks a little bit like you – and she will.  But please take that as a compliment.  She’ll remind me of everything that I loved about you. 

Thanks for the memories.  I know you’re going to make someone else very happy.

With great fondness,
Knelley

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

Dear WEBS,

Thank you so much for the Malabrigo Worsted Merino you sent me.  I love the Cuarzo coloway.  It’s beautiful.  I thought it would have a little more blue in it, but I do like its many shades of purple.   I know . . . I know . . . I don’t really need more blue yarn.  You know me so well.  I’m not sure what this yarn will become, but I’m sure it will be gorgeous. 

Thanks again for holding my order until you had 5 skeins in the same dyelot.  You’re good like that.

See you again soon,
Knelley

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

Dear 3rd Grade Boy,

You’re making me nervous.  Really.  I think you’re very cute and I know you’re a smart cookie, but still . . . I’m nervous.  Remember that journal writing prompt I gave to the class the other day – the one that asked Would you rather be a baseball bat or a baseball?  Yes, that one.  All of the kids in our classroom love those prompts where they have to choose between two wacky things.  When I read the journals of the other kids, lots of them told me that they’d rather be a baseball because they’d make kids happy.  They’d be played with a lot and they’d have fun.  It was all happy stuff.  Made me smile.  Then I read yours.  It alarmed me.

 

Please remember . . . you’re a boy.  You’re an 8 year old boy.  I’m a teacher.  I have eyes in the back of my head.   And I’m watching you. 

Love,
Ms. Teacher

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

Dear O.J.,

Finally. 

-Knelley

7 Responses to “Letters from the Edge”

  1. yankeel Says:

    Dear O.J.,
    Finally.

    Yes! Even though the jurors were told not to use this case to right a different wrong, I hope this verdict (and the fact that O.J. could spend the rest of his life in prison) will bring the Brown and Goldman families a little bit of peace.

  2. accountantgrrl Says:

    You’re cute, Knelley.

    Oh, but I have one question…..do you really have *that* many blue balls???

    Hehehehehe

  3. Mom Says:

    Thanks to OJ’s jurors. Bravo.

    Your yarn is beautiful Enjoy !!

    I don’t want to meet that 3rd grade boy.

  4. costumechick Says:

    Dear Knelley,
    I still love the purple yarn. It would look lovely on me. It is exactly my color. feel free to give it to me at anytime, especailly in sweater form.”
    V.A.L.

  5. rmsheffler Says:

    Hopefully your 3rd grade boy will not turn out quite like my 8th grade boy who is moving across town. He didn’t rob a bank, but I don’t think he’s allowed back to Kohl’s, if you know what I mean…..

    On the other hand, I’m sorry that your relationship with Juliet didn’t work out. But don’t worry — you’ll meet someone else. You can even bring her to Tuesday Knit Night. And if you’re looking for more balls…. Try these: http://turvid.blogspot.com/2008/09/wool-balls-again.html

  6. Kathy Says:

    Dear Knelley

    So glad we could help out with the Malabrigo Worsted. Happy to handle the dye lot thing because we like happy knitters.

    Sorry about Juliet. Sometimes these things just don’t work out. Silk Garden and I have agreed to live in peace at the shop, but beyond that, we’ve decided we’re better off apart.

    Happy Knitting

    Kathy/WEBS

  7. jennsquared Says:

    Love Kathy’s response, because WEBS is good like that 🙂

    I hope your 3rd grader turn out better after your class. That is one scary letter to read. I would be alarmed too.

    Your new friend is much better for you than Juliet. I’m sure Juliet will understand.

Leave a Reply

