The Blues

After a long and challenging week of 3rd graders, I woke up on Saturday morning looking forward prepared to sitting on the couch in my jammies all day with my knitting in my lap.  Then I got a better offer:  a message in my Ravelry mail box from my sister Kim asking, “Do you want to go to WEBS today?”  I picked up the phone and called her.  When she answered, all I said was, “Okay!”  And so we went.

Kim and I both ordered from WEBS several times, but it was our first time actually going to the store.  I had high expectations.  I’d heard great things and had seen some really beautiful fibery purchases come out of that store.  I knew that we’d fine a yarn shop in the front of the building with a yarn-filled warehouse at the back.  I pictured a regular LYS-kind-of-shop – something on the small side.  We were wowed when we walked in.  (Just met my letter W quota for the day.)  It’s a beautiful store with tons of stuff to look at.  I didn’t know where to start. 

We oohed and ahhed up and down aisles and around displays.  I saw so much that I wanted but I didn’t know what I wanted.  I knew I wanted worsted weight yarn for the February Lady Sweater and more bulky yarn for another yet-to-be-chosen sweater, but I was overwhelmed.  I had a moment of panic thinking that I might not be able to choose and I’d walked out empty handed.  Wat – did you just snort?  Did you?  Oh, sorry . . . that was me. 

I found plenty.  More than I could carry.

There’s this:

10 skeins of Valley Yarns Northhampton in Dark Periwinkle, destined to become the February Lady.

12 balls (balls!) of Cascade Bollicine Revolution in a dusty blue.  These balls (balls!) will become another sweater.

3 skeins of Reynolds Lopi in a purply-periwinklish color.  No idea what they’ll become, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they grew up to be a felted bag.

Can’t wait to fix up the yarn wall with these new additions. 

I also bought:

Two shawl pins.  Love them.  Couldn’t decide on the color . . . so I bought both.  Only $6.40 each!

And two buttons, shown resting upon their future home – Juliet.  She’s coming along.  I’ll get to the lace part of the body today and I’m all excited about that.  Can’t wait.

After we spent nearly 2 hours in the store, we were ready for food.  Kim and I were both hungry when we arrived, and we were starving when we left.  When we took the exit for WEBS off of I-91, there were signs telling us that Northampton had FOOD and ATTRACTIONS.  We found neither.  We drove up and down the main road, finding no food other than Friendlys, McDonald’s, and Burger King and nothing at all that we found attractive.  We got back onto the highway and ended up at Uno’s at the Holyoke Mall.  Good stuff.

Today, I’m knitting on Juliet and stalling to avoid my schoolwork.  I have lessons plans to write and then need to read a pile of my kids’ stories.  Might have to get out my decoder ring to get through some of them.

Ready for today’s Cuteness? 

A second grade teacher at school did a lesson with her class where the children had to write and “If I were . . . But . . .”  For example, I might write: “If I were a slacker, I’d stay home all day every day and knit.  BUT I’d lose my job and I’d end up doing my knitting in a cardboard box.”  Get it?

Here are two examples from the 2nd grade bulletin board:

Sweet, isn’t it? 

But this one is my absolute favorite:

Egg and ronies, we’ve come to learn, is a delicious dish that this little girl’s mother cooks for her.  She loves it and she’d miss it way too much if she could never have it again – even if she could go to the bathroom wherever she wanted. 

Please be sure to go back to take a close look at the illustration.  Snort.

9 Responses to “The Blues”

  1. Sonia Says:

    You really like blue, don’t you?! And who could blame you–that is some seriously beautiful yarn you chose. Glad it was a good experience!

  2. Mom Says:

    OMG the yarn is gorgeous. I thought you just bought a little bit ! Those little kids are so funny !! Were you that funny ?? I don’t remember.

    MOM

  3. rmsheffler Says:

    I’m so jealous. I think we need to plan a Tuesday Knit Night trip up there — but not on a Tuesday night; we’d never want to leave for school the next day!

  4. firemanshunny Says:

    Oh it looks like someone got the Webs discount!!

  5. accountantgrrl Says:

    Isn’t WEBS great?!

    I’ve been able to go to the actual store twice after finishing up audits. I’m surprised that you didn’t find FOOD and ATTRACTIONS. If you took a left out of the parking lot when you were finished and followed that road, you would have entered downtown which is similar to New Haven.

  6. Pam Says:

    Northampton does have an attraction–Smith! And there’s still a Fitzwilly’s on Main Street, I think. But I agree, the town doesn’t have much in the way of restaurants. Where in Northampton is WEBS, anyway?

  7. Amanda Page Says:

    I am quite jealous of your WEbs trip. Three women in my knitting group went there after a Crochet Guild convention earlier this year, and I turned a lovely shade of green then too.

    I think I’ll need a plan before I go in though. Admittedly, I’ve never (that I can remember, since I’ve started knitting again) gone into a yarn shop (or just a shop that also sells yarn) and not come out with yarn. I’d rather have a plan though, so I don’t end up with many more one off skeins that I can’t quite work out what to knit.

    I’ve been knitting with some purple Lopi, and have discovered that for me, it’s not going to be a touching the skin yarn. Hats, and decorative bits and pieces, but not the main body of a scarf – itchitchyscratch!

  8. Tamara Says:

    You give hope to yarn shoppers everywhere. You experienced the uncertainty of maybe not finding anything to buy, but forged ahead unafraid. And you didn’t just come out with an odd orphan skein of sale yarn, you triumphantly scored enough fiber for entire projects. Thank you for your inspiring story of success 🙂 I go to Elmore-Pisgah in a few weeks and despite my total addiction to their Peaches & Creme cotton yarn, I’m worried that I’ll freeze up when I get there!

  9. jennsquared Says:

    YUMMY. That’s all I got.

Leave a Reply

