Poked and Prodded . . .

. . . and happy about it. 

Last night, some of the SnB girls were getting together at Anphoe‘s house for food, pina coladas, knitting, and laughs.  The gathering started at 6 PM.  At 7:30 PM, I was asleep on my couch when the phone rang.  It was YankeeL, poking and prodding me to get my butt over there.  The thought of food and pina coladas didn’t sit well with me at that point.  I was feeling a little low and slow after the previous night’s school-stress-related happy hour (made necessary by an afternoon of teacher-to-teacher student flipflopping while trying to figure out how to make kids and parents happy).  Ugh.  Problems had been solved, but nerves had been frazzled, so we needed a few hours of happy.  I was introduced to a new-to-me drink – a watermelon martini.  So delicious.  Smelled like a Jolly Rancher candy and tasted like one, too.  I didn’t get blasted (I swear, Mom), but I think the combination of stressful scrambling and vodka sent me over the edge.  I slept until noon, drank lots of coffee, took a shower, and tried to feel human.  Feeling human meant conking out on the couch.

The phone call from the girls poked, prodded, and pushed me right off the couch.  Although food and drink didn’t sound good to me, knitting and laughs did.  And I was never good at handling that peer pressure business.  I’m so glad I went.  What fun!  It’s amazing how knitting and laughing, along with some chicken & pasta and a pina colada, can bring a girl back to life. 

Here we are:

(Photo courtesy of Wife”Mom”Knitter – swiped from her blog because I barely remembered to bring my knitting with me, let alone my camera.)  

This photo shows the relatively calm part of the evening, before Rock Band started.  Rock Band is like guitar hero, but allows people to play drums and bass in addition to the guitar.  It also lets someone be the singer.  I was a quiet observer throughout most of the musical entertainment portion of the night.  Okay – not that quiet.  I’m pretty sure I snorted a few times while I was trying to control my laughter.   After a while, I was talked into singing “Creep” by Radiohead.  I’m a creep.  I’m a weirdo.  I scored surprisingly well.  It seems that if you laugh into the microphone when you’re supposed to be holding a note, the game thinks you’re awesome.   Thanks to Anphoe for hosting, and to Cookie the cat for entertaining us with countless games of fetch.  (Cookie thinks she’s a puppy.)

While I was there, I finished my Cap’n Crunch neckwarmer.  So cool.  Just needs two buttons and it’s done.

The details:
Pattern:  Cap’n Crunch by Jennifer Adams
Yarn:  Malabrigo Merino Worsted in Dusty
Needles:  Knitpicks Options Harmony US 10

I’ll post another photo once I’ve found some buttons for it.

As soon as I finished Cap’n Crunch, I started another felted bag.  My sister, Kim, has been bitten hard by the knitting bug and has been making lots of beautiful bags.  Since I always want to copy everything she does, I’ve started a version of the Romantic Ruffles Felted Purse.  Kim made a gorgeous one with Farmhouse Yarns Lumpy Bumpy and I had a few balls of the same kind of yarn laying around.  (Did you notice I said balls?)

Here’s Kim’s bag: 

(Above photo used without permission of the owner, but I don’t think she’ll mind because the bag is really beautiful and it should be shown off.)

Here’s the start of my bag:

It won’t be just like Kim’s when it grows up, but I think I’ll love it anyway.

I hope.

Oooooh ooooooh!  Almost forgot to tell you.  The boy’s room . . . it’s CLEAN!  He did it! I helped him do it today!  It’s clean!  We still have to work on getting the spots out of the carpet (boys are messy), but there’s no clutter, no crumbs, no dirty clothes, no trash, and no miscellaneous broken things.  It only took two months and eleventy-nine trips to the dumpster to get this done.  I’m the happiest mother in the world.

3 Responses to “Poked and Prodded . . .”

  1. rmsheffler Says:

    Wow! You’ve been busy! I’m sorry that you seem to have a case of the back-to-school blues…. I feel your pain! But good times with good friends is a sure fire cure!

    The neck warmer & bag look great! Hope to see you Tuesday…. I call to poke & prod, too, but wouldn’t know where to dial. Consider this your phone call!

  2. accountantgrrl Says:

    Yep. A good time was had by all. And yes I did notice you said, “BALLS!”

  3. Leopardgirl Says:

    Your bag is going to be beautiful. Are you going to use a contrasting color? Can’t wait to see it.

Leave a Reply

