We Interrupt This Cabling . . .

. . . to bring you a dumpling.

I’ve been making progress on my cable bag.  Here’s a peek at it.

Since last night was Tuesday-Knit-at-the-Library-Night, I needed to work on a simpler project – one that wouldn’t require a whole bunch of concentration.   Rather than work on my black garter stitch Anthropologie-ish cardigan like I should have, I started a Dumpling Bag from the Fall 2008 Interweave Knits.  It’s easy and adorable.  Look . . . the balls are doing their job.

I figured I could work on this bag tomorrow night at Stitch’n Bitch. 

Oops.  Finished it already.

It’s such a fast project with worsted weight yarn knit doubled on big needles.  Mykindaprojeck. 

Here’s a close-up of the handle construction with straps fed through two loops.  I couldn’t find any of the lucite rings specified in the pattern, so I used some simple silvertone rings I found at the craft store.

And I felted it right away.  Couldn’t wait.

Details:
Pattern: Dumpling Bag – Fal 2008 Interweave Knits
Yarn:  Patons Classic Wool Merino – That’s Pink
Needles:  US 13 Knit Picks Options circulars 

It’s adorable.  I didn’t do the embroidery that was suggested in the pattern, but I may do some needle felting to add some pizzazz.  I think it’s cute the way it is, though.  It’s a dumpling.

I’m feeling a little bit anxious about my knitting lately.  About my knitting time, actually.  The start of a new school year is creeping closer.  I’ve been in my classroom each day this week getting things ready.  I’m taking things home to work on.  Gulp.  It’s going to be a little bit painful for me to give up all of my free time.  I’ll get used to it quickly.  I always do.  I love the kids and I’m looking forward to spending quality time with a delightful bunch of children telling you more funny stories about the wacky things that third graders do.  Stay tuned.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled cabling.

5 Responses to “We Interrupt This Cabling . . .”

  1. accountantgrrl Says:

    You’ve got some mad cablin’ skilz, yo!

    Oh, and what I little dumpling!

  2. Leopardgirl Says:

    I’ve seen lots of pictures of your thighs lately….and the dumpling bag is cute too!

  3. rmsheffler Says:

    L-O-V-E it! And I feel the same way about the loss of knitting time & the beginning of a new school year filled with terrors, I mean, middle schoolers. 😛

  4. kim "laverne" moore Says:

    Betty please, pick up.

  5. Mad Knitter Says:

    Oooh, I love that dumpling bag! It is *soooo* cute! And a neat color. Really pretty.

Leave a Reply

