Buying Food Gives Me Gas . . .

 . . . at an amazing price! 

I needed to fill up my gas tank today, and almost stopped at the Sunoco near my house.  It was $3.949 per gallon there.  Under $4.00.  Nice.  Then I remembered that I might do better at Stop & Shop.  It was $3.899 there.  Better.  But then I did SO much better. 

When you shop at Stop & Shop, you earn points for each purchase – one point for every dollar spent.  With each 50 points you accumulate, you get $.10 off per gallon.  They let you rack up points that are good for two months.  I had accumulated 765 points, which equals 50 points times 15!  15 times $.10 gave me $1.50 off per gallon!  Do you believe it!  I paid $2.399 per gallon!   I filled up with 11.795 gallons for $28.30!  Woohoo!

When I saw the per gallon price on the pump, I almost fell over the hose.  I almost started jumping up and down.  I almost ran up to the little pay booth and kissed the glass in front of the cashier.  But I didn’t.  I rocked up and down on my toes a few times with a big goofy smile on my face.  That alone was enough to get some strange looks from my fellow customers.

The moral of this story is:  Shop at Stop & Shop, use your S&S card, rack up points, and buy your gas at Stop & Shop – and don’t embarrass yourself.  Really. 

I have no idea how long this program will continue, but I’ll be so happy if it keeps going.  My bottomless-pit-boy has me spending huge chunks of change at the grocery store.  At least I can save on gas.

I’ve been working on my something-pretty with my pretty blue Malabrigo.  Here’s the first part.

Working on the second part.  If it turns out well, I’ll show you. 

If it doesn’t, I’ll show you anyway.  You can point and laugh.

5 Responses to “Buying Food Gives Me Gas . . .”

  1. Firemanshunny Says:

    I love that stop and shop gas rewards! Too bad they don’t have one by my house so I have to wait to fill up when I go to my mom’s in milford.

  2. accountantgrrl Says:

    I like the pattern that you chose this time so much better than the booby one from Saturday. Yes, I said “Booby!”

  3. rmsheffler Says:

    I didn’t do quite that well at the pump, but I was excited for $3.099. We just don’t buy that many groceries, I guess….

    The Malabrigo looks awesome! I just got some today in my Teachers Who Knit swap package — can’t wait to use it! I hope mine turns out just as pretty….

  4. Mad Knitter Says:

    Oooh, your new project looks lovely! I can’t wait to see what it turns into!

    I am so jealous of your Stop and Shop success! I shop there, but there’s no gas at our local S & S’s, so I can never use those points :(. Lucky girl!!!

  5. Pam Says:

    You know we had NO idea Stop and Shop was putting gas points on our card? We thought the pump was broken when we got gas for like 3.20/gallon!

Leave a Reply

