In the Pink

I’ve started yet another new project and I think I might love it.  It’s the Classic Elite Yarns Breast Cancer Awareness Scarf and the pattern was suggested to me by my blind-knitting-date friend.  (Thanks!) 

It’s knit in two piece from the ends up and joined together in the center.  I had a little trouble making the three bobbles on the foundation row, but after three tries, I realized that I was misreading what the clearly stated directions were telling me to do.  In my real life, I teach children to read.  Reading comprehension.  Think about what the words are telling you.  Find the meaning.  Doy.  Instead of doing that the first time, I was biting my lip, huffing and puffing, and trying not to swear as my extremely observant boy tiptoed out of the room in case I was about to blow.  When I finally figured it out, I was so relieved and a little sore from thunking myself on the forehead.  The reason I said that I think I love this scarf is that I’m a little worried about how it will block.  It needs to be blocked so that it will lay flat, but this yarn is a combo of 51% cotton and 49% acrylic.  I hope it works.  If it plays nice while blocking, I will state proudly that I love it.

Pretty!  The plan is that this scarf will become a raffle item at my team’s booth at the Relay for Life in September.  That’s the plan.  I may have a hard time parting with this, though.  Maybe I should make a declaration to my team that I’m knitting this for our raffle – to benefit the American Cancer Society – to work toward eradicating cancer in all its ugly forms – and have them wrestle it out of my clutches while gently reminding me of my promise and how letting it go will serve the greater good.  We’ll see . . . It would look so nice with my black coat.

I’ve also made some more . . . you know. 

I used to dabble quite a bit in polymer clay and it popped into my head to make some . . . you know . . . out of this clay.  I used Fimo Soft and mixed the extremely bright colors with white to soften them up and voila.  A new batch of you knows.

For you knitters, in case you haven’t heard, there’s a new online magazine to tempt us.  Twist Collective went live today and it’s full of knitting gorgeousness.  Go look.

Emmie is a constant source of entertainment.   Yesterday, she really brought the house down. 

 More fun to sit on her house than in it.

5 Responses to “In the Pink”

  1. rmsheffler Says:

    I’m glad you’re liking the pattern. And just remember — now that you have it, you can always knit another one for yourself! See you Tuesday!

  2. accountantgrrl Says:

    Pretty scarf. Even lovelier in person.

    Like the dots. (hehe)

  3. Erin Says:

    That scarf is really pretty! It might be hard to let it go, but it will be for a great cause.
    Nice balls, by the way. 🙂

  4. Wonky Weather and a Bra Tip « Knelley Knits Says:

    […] Knelley Knits My world: knitting, mothering, teaching, and living well after breast cancer. « In the Pink […]

  5. You Say It’s Your Birthday?! It’s My Birthday, Too! « Wife, “Mom”, Knitter Says:

    […] some really cute stitch markers she made to SnB for “Show and Tell” (you can see them here.)  I’ve been wanting to buy them from her because they are just so friggin’ […]

Leave a Reply

