You Can Almost Fool Me Once

I’m going to share something with you. I’m hesitant to tell you this because I don’t want to gross you out. Please don’t be grossed out.

I have some . . . um . . . warts on my left hand. I hate them. I’ve had them frozen off by the dermatologist twice and they’ve come back both times looking for a fight. They’re bigger and badder than ever. I’ve tried the apple cider vinegar treatment, putting the vinegar on a little piece of cotton ball, putting it on the . . . um . . . offending area, and covering it with a bandaid. It works – somewhat. The acid of the vinegar eats up the . . . um . . . bad spot. Unfortunately, it also eats up the innocent skin around the wart. Ouch.

Next attempt: duct tape. Supposedly, if I cover the offending areas with duct tape and keep them covered, in about a week they’ll have been suffocated. It could take longer, of course, but the duct tape thing is supposed to work.
Why am I telling you this?
On Friday, I was sitting in front of a computer (and no, I wasn’t on Ravelry) in my classroom during snacktime. Two girls came over to me and one of them asked, “Do you have any duct tape?”
Hmmmmmm, I thought. I think I might have duct tape. I was pretty sure that I had my roll of duct tape with me, at the ready to cover my . . . um . . . imperfections. Yes. I knew I had my duct tape with me.
“I think I do have duct tape in my bag,” I said to the now excited girls. I stood up and started to walk toward my desk. I stopped. Duct tape? Scotch tape, always. Masking tape, maybe. Duct tape? Wait.
“What do you need duct tape for?” I asked with a confused look on my face.
“Oh, we’re going to play this game where we have code words and if someone says a code word, we cover their mouth with duct tape.”

“Um . . . no.”

Can’t believe I almost gave them duct tape.

And what if the New Haven Register or the Connecticut Post found out?
5 Responses to “You Can Almost Fool Me Once”

  1. WifeMomKnitter Says:

    Kids. Gotta love ’em!

  2. jennsquared Says:

    Oh Boy… Or should I say “Oh Girl…”?

    My brother tried the OTC stuff from walgreens and it worked for him.

  3. Sheila Says:

    How do kids think of these things? And what if the person comes up with the second code word? Well, I don’t suppose they could say it with duct tape on the mouth, but if they write it? Duct tape on the hand? Duct tape over the nose? Ooooooooh! I am thinking like the kids now.

  4. mad knitter Says:

    Oh man…that was close, LOL! Girls can be such cruel beasts, no?

  5. costumechick Says:

    ugh. warts. Hate them. I ended up haveing to have them cut and frozen multiple times. I’m still afraind they’ll come back. 1st through 7 th grade was all about the wart removal on my right elbow. (at least it seamed like it to me..)

Leave a Reply

