The Kool-Aid Yarn

I actually had a dream last night that I was winding my Kool-Aid yarn on a ball winder. It wasn’t my ball winder – it was a wacky automatically-crocheted-my-yarn-into-a-big-blanket ball winder. And the big blanket was shiny. Residual flu dreams, I guess.

As soon as I woke up this morning, I ran (read: walked slowly) downstairs to wind my yarn. Ta da!


The grape color lightened up a lot when it dried and it’s much more likeable. I grabbed US 6 needles and knit up a swatch. Here’s the front:

Here’s the back:

I don’t know what I’ll do with this yarn. I’ll flip through OneSkein, One-Skein Wonders, and 101 Designer One-Skein Wonders to see what strikes me. Maybe mittens, mitts, or a scarf.

Now I’m itching to run to Stop&Shop to buy more Kool-Aid. I want to do a pink yarn and a blue/green yarn. Can’t wait.

I made progress on my no-purl Monkey sock.

It’s coming along nicely – much better than the one I frogged.

My boy is cleaning his room today. Shhhh. Did you hear that? Yup. The angels singing. I’m going to snuggle up on the couch with my knitting and with these:


Mailbox jackpot.

7 Responses to “The Kool-Aid Yarn”

  1. anphoe Says:

    Pretty yarn that you have made!!! Now I really really want to try to dye my own yarn, looks like fun.

  2. jennsquared Says:

    Wow! Those looks great! The yarn really turned out great! Can’t wait to see what you make! Now I want to dye my own yarn!

  3. acambras Says:

    Oooh, it’s so pretty!

  4. Anonymous Says:

    I love the colors, good job!! You’re very brave, I’d be afraid to try it. I can’t wait to see what you knit with it.
    Love,
    Afghan Lady (almost finished)

  5. WifeMomKnitter Says:

    Wow! That is truly amazing! When I saw the colors, I wasn’t too sure how they were going to look together. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised! Hey Knelley, you know, of course, that you can *REALLY* say that you invented that colorway, now don’tcha?

  6. mad knitter Says:

    Oh, it’s just beautiful! Nice, nice job! I can’t wait to see what you make with it! Darn it, now I want to dye with Kool Aid, LOL!

  7. Kathy Says:

    See how nice it looks? I knew it would be fine…since you were doing it!! Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

Leave a Reply

