Archive for February 23rd, 2008

The Kool-Aid Yarn

February 23, 2008

I actually had a dream last night that I was winding my Kool-Aid yarn on a ball winder. It wasn’t my ball winder – it was a wacky automatically-crocheted-my-yarn-into-a-big-blanket ball winder. And the big blanket was shiny. Residual flu dreams, I guess.

As soon as I woke up this morning, I ran (read: walked slowly) downstairs to wind my yarn. Ta da!


The grape color lightened up a lot when it dried and it’s much more likeable. I grabbed US 6 needles and knit up a swatch. Here’s the front:

Here’s the back:

I don’t know what I’ll do with this yarn. I’ll flip through OneSkein, One-Skein Wonders, and 101 Designer One-Skein Wonders to see what strikes me. Maybe mittens, mitts, or a scarf.

Now I’m itching to run to Stop&Shop to buy more Kool-Aid. I want to do a pink yarn and a blue/green yarn. Can’t wait.

I made progress on my no-purl Monkey sock.

It’s coming along nicely – much better than the one I frogged.

My boy is cleaning his room today. Shhhh. Did you hear that? Yup. The angels singing. I’m going to snuggle up on the couch with my knitting and with these:


Mailbox jackpot.