This Post is Brought to You by the Letter A

A is for AVOIDANCE. I am playing a game of hide’n seek from my parent/teacher conference preparation by knitting, shopping, watching lots of TV shows I DVR’d, and knitting some more. Look at the progress on the Candle Flame Shawl:

A is for AMAZING. I’m amazed at the beauty of this shawl and I’m amazed that I haven’t messed it up again. I love the way it’s growing quickly and I might just have to keep it on my lap during conferences. If I get tongue-tied, I’ll just hold it up and say, “Look what I can do.”

A is for ADDICTIVE. I put my knitting A.D.H.D. to good use by trying out the magic loop method of knitting a sock. Yowza. I love it. Look!


I’m using Moda Dea Washable Wool in Coffee and I’m knitting a version of Knitty’s Thuja pattern. It’s easy, but has a little oomph. Here’s another look:

Maybe I’ll keep this in my pocket at conferences so if the shawl doesn’t impress, I have a back-up.

A is for AWFUL. That’s the way the black jeans I bought last week at Macy’s smelled. I had picked out a nice-looking pair of simple black jeans. They fit me well and I was happy. I brought them home and tried them on again. Hmmm . . . what’s that smell? I wondered. It was my pants. They smelled like sulfur. No, really. Sulfur. I threw them in the wash with my new fruity-scented laundry detergent that makes all of my laundry smell edible. Still, they smelled. I had taken the tags off, so I was a little nervous about the attitude I might get when I tried to return them. Yesterday, during my avoidance game, I went back to Macy’s. Before I went to the counter, I grabbed a new pair off the rack and brought them with me to the cash register as proof of the smelliness they had before I washed them. Much to my delight, I watched two of the sales people smell both pairs of jeans and pronounce them, “Eew.” I was refunded, found a new odor-free pair of black jeans, and bought them. So if you ever have smelly pants, you can return them. You should never have to keep a pair of smelly pants.

A is for AW, CRAP. I just realized that I won’t be able to make it to SnB on Thursday night. It’s a conference night. Crappity crap crap. Thanks, friends, for missing me last Thursday. I missed you back. Please miss me even more this Thursday and have a Portabello and Mozzarella Panini for me. Hold Katie in your lap and work hard to make her smile. Pet other people’s yarn and make a few inappropriate wisecracks. It might be a while until I see you again, so please hold a seat for me! Miss you!

A is for ADIOS.

6 Responses to “This Post is Brought to You by the Letter A”

  1. acambras Says:

    This post also brought to you by the number 3 — 3 weeks we’ll go without seeing you, since next Thursday is Thanksgiving. 😦 Don’t get me wrong — Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays (no shopping, obscene amounts of food, and a nice long nap!), but we’ll miss you until December. (:-)

    Anne

  2. JennM Says:

    A+ for the progress you have made on the shawl! You’re going to like the Thuja pattern. It’s the pattern I’m using for the Purple Haze socks (and no, I STILL have not cast on the second one). Good luck on the parent/teacher conferences. Sounds like you’re gonna need it!!

    Jen

  3. jennsquared Says:

    I love the Thuja pattern! It was my first pair of socks! I was so impressed with myself I think I giggled when I completed my first sock.

    I haven’t been able to go on Thursday either so I’m missing everyone also.

    The shawl is looking gorgeous!

  4. costumechick Says:

    Boo. No knelly next week. I’m off to do my best 3rd grade pout. Couldn’t they have PT conferences at Panera?

  5. mad knitter Says:

    Aw man, I can’t believe that you won’t be able to come to SnB again!I am missing you :(. Hey, lovely work on that shawl! The pattern is so beautiful!!!

    I have your AVON stuff…write me at lkmcland@sbcglobal.net if you would like it before the 29th. I’m happy to make a delivery anywhere :).

  6. Kathy Says:

    As usual…note the “A”…my laugh for the week! Can’t wait to hear how your conferences went…and I’m sure you didn’t need to take your vice with you!! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

